How to Prepare your iPhone for sale

Erase-iPhone

Whether you’re purchasing the next iPhone or you’re simply trading up from on older model–one of the first things you need to do before selling/trading in your current iPhone is to wipe the device clean.  Even though cellular carriers will usually boast about
providing this service to you for free, the piece of mind from performing the task yourself is invaluable.  There’s no need to trust someone else with your personal security.  Whether you’re a seasoned veteran of the trade-in/sell process, or you’ve never done this before, don’t worry–we’ve got you covered.  It’s easy to remove all your personal data and return your device to its factory settings.

Be sure to back up your iPhone

If you plan on restoring your new iPhone from a previous back-up you need to make sure you have a saved version to begin with.  It doesn’t matter if it’s saved to iCloud or iTunes–either will work.  On that note, there is absolutely no reason why you shouldn’t be backing up your iPhone to iCloud.  It works automatically, seamlessly, overnight or during any other extended period of idle activity, as long as you are connected to a local Wi-Fi network.  Start the process for the first time in Settings–> iCloud–> Backup.  For more information about iCloud vs iTunes backups for iOS devices check out this info from Apple.

Wipe all data from your iPhone

If you use Find My iPhone to track the location of your iOS devices, you will need to remove it from this feature before you wipe clear all data from your iPhone you.  When prompted, you will need to enter your Apple ID and password.  This prevents someone else from doing this without your knowledge. To remove all your personal data from your iPhone and set it up as a new device in preparation for sale/exchange open the Settings App and select General–> Reset–> and select Erase ALL Content and Settings.

Screen Shot 2016-08-28 at 2.23.36 PM

At this point your iPhone will be erased and removed from your account.  In addition, the email associated with your Apple ID will also be notified alerting you of this action, as well as any additional devices associated with the same Apple ID.  Now your iPhone will go through and completely remove all data from your iPhone, and all services from iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, etc will no longer be active on this device.

A few Words About Find My iPhone

Note:  Apple cautions that you should never manually delete contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while signed in to your iCloud account, or this content will also be deleted from the iCloud servers and all of your iCloud devices.

With Find my iPhone disabled the phone can no longer be located, placed in lost mode or remotely erased using iCloud.com/find or the Find My iPhone iOS App.  In addition, your Apple ID and password will no longer b required for someone to erase, reactivate and use your wiped iPhone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *